Call for Comments: New ABMS Draft Standards for Board Continuing Certification. Learn more and submit feedback here 

Maintenance of Licensure (MOL)

The Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) represents the nation’s state medical boards. Licensing requirements vary by state. In most states, physicians must show that they have obtained a required amount of continuing education credit. The FSMB maintains an index of state licensing boards.

Maintaining Your Board Certification

APA offers a wide variety of activities to help you achieve your CME, board continuing certification, and MOL requirements. View more in the APA Learning Center, APA’s convenient online resource for completing and tracking CME, Self-Assessment, Performance in Practice(PIP), and professional development activities.

National Board of Physicians & Surgeons (NBPAS)

The APA and NBPAS are separate and independent organizations. The National Board of Physicians and Surgeons (NBPAS) provides board recertification across a number of medical specialties for both M.D.s and D.O.s.

View additional information on the NBPAS website.

The NBPAS provides the following metric for continued certification:

  • Previous initial certification by an ABMS or AOA member board
  • Current, unrestricted medical license and NPI number
  • At least 50-100 hours of ACCME-accredited CME (depending on status of prior board certification) completed within the past 24 months (physicians-in-training are exempt)
  • Active hospital or outpatient facility privileges are required for selected specialties
  • Clinical privileges have not been permanently revoked

Physicians who elect to maintain only NBPAS certification should consult with their employer and other relevant stakeholders to understand any potential ramifications of holding NBPAS certification alone. NBPAS certification is currently accepted at many fewer hospitals than ABMS certification. Physicians should consult with the physician organization leadership at their institutions to determine if NBPAS certification alone is sufficient to meet credentialling requirements.

American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN)

The APA and ABPN are separate and independent organizations. The ABPN sets MOC requirements that conform to American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) standards, implements the initial certification and maintenance of certification (MOC) program for psychiatrists, and monitors participation for its diplomates (board certified physicians).

The ABPN sets standards and requirements for certification and MOC for:

  • Psychiatry and psychiatric subspecialties, including:
    • Addiction Psychiatry
    • Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
    • Clinical Neurophysiology
    • Forensic Psychiatry
    • Geriatric Psychiatry
    • Neurodevelopmental Disabilities
    • Pain Medicine
  • Neurology and neurology subspecialties

The ABPN is a member board of ABMS. ABMS sets the general standards for its 24 member medical specialties and the ABPN implements the programs for psychiatry and neurology.

View more on the ABPN MOC Program here.

APA and MOC Reform: What APA Is Doing for You

Learn about APA’s efforts on behalf of members to reform MOC, advocate against additional requirements, ensure requirements are relevant to psychiatric practices and establish a fair process for psychiatrists who demonstrate meaningful learning and improvement

The American Psychiatric Association (APA) is committed to ensuring accessibility of its website to people with disabilities. If you have trouble accessing any of APA’s web resources, please contact us at 202-559-3900 or for assistance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.